Governing Bodies

Board of Directors


António Sousa Ribeiro has been a researcher at CES since his foundation in 1978 and is a full professor at the Faculty of Arts and Humanities of the University of Coimbra (FLUC), where he has held several positions and is  currently coordinator of the CES/UC PhD programmes in «Discourses: Culture, History and Society» and «Post-Colonialisms and Global Citizenship». He has researched and published extensively on topics of German literature, comparative literature, literary theory, cultural studies and postcolonial studies, studies on Modernism and topics of violence, culture and identities.


Executive Director

The Board of Directors is composed of three full members appointed by the General Assembly, serving three-year terms. Currently, it is made up of: António Sousa Ribeiro (Director), Lina Coelho and Madalena Duarte (Vice-Directors). Rita Pais was appointed Executive Director. The Board of Directors is responsible for the general governance of the institution and for its legal and institutional representation; implementation of the broad guidelines issued by the General Assembly and the Scientific Board; coordination and supervision of administrative and technical support services for research (human resources, maintenance, financial and administrative, etc.); and submission of annual reports (Activity and Accounting) to the General Assembly.

Scientific Board



The Scientific Board is currently presided by Adriana Bebiano, being Jorge Figueira and Maria Paula Meneses as Vice-presidents. The Scientific Board deliberates on all issues related to the research activities of CES, including the definition of criteria and priorities for the recruitment of researchers. The Scientific Board operates through Plenary Sessions comprising all PhD associates, a representative of non-PhD associates, a representative of postdoctoral fellows and a representative of the junior researchers in standing committee. The Standing Committee of the Scientific Board consists of 25 PhD associates, including ex-officio and peer-elected members, a representative of non-PhD associates, a representative of postdoctoral fellows and a representative of the junior researchers. The current composition of the Standing Committee is the following:

Adriana Bebiano

Ana Cordeiro Santos

Ana Cristina Santos

Antonieta Reis Leite

António Sousa Ribeiro

Boaventura de Sousa Santos

Catarina Martins

Cristiano Gianolla

Fernando Fontes

Hermes Augusto Costa

Jorge Figueira

José Manuel Mendes

Manuel Carvalho da Silva

Maria Irene Ramalho

Maria Paula Meneses

Marta Araújo

Miguel Cardina

Paula Sequeiros

Paulo Peixoto

Pedro Hespanha

Silvia Rodríguez Maeso

Susana de Noronha

Tatiana Moura

Teresa Cunha

Vítor Neves

General Assembly




The Researchers General Assembly comprises all researchers and decides on the Centre’s major activities guidelines, discusses and approves the annual budget, assesses the financial and activities reports presented by the Board of Directors and decides on the admission of new members. Presently, it is Presided ex-officio by the Rector of the University of Coimbra, Amílcar Falcão, holding as Vice-president Paulo Peixoto and Secretary Antonieta Reis Leite.

Audit Committee



The Audit Committee consists of three CES researchers: Ana Raquel Matos as President and José Manuel Mendes and Rui Lobo as Members. It monitors the budget implementation, gives feedback on management tools, examines the accounts and issues opinions on the annual Financial Report.

Director Emeritus

Boaventura de Sousa Santos is now Director Emeritus of the Centre for Social Studies, having served as its Director since its foundation in 1978 to April 2019, and continues to sustain a strong and dynamic research activity, of great international recognition, in areas as diverse as epistemologies of the South, sociology of law, postcolonial theory, democracy, interculturality, globalisation, social movements, human rights. His work has been published in multiple languages.